“I Don’t Believe in God, But I Sure Could Use Him Right Now”

While on a walk around our neighborhood early this morning, I noticed a couple sitting in a park. I didn’t have any Gospel tracts on me because it was a spur-of-the-moment walk before getting ready for the day, so I went over and told them I had an interesting question for them and asked what they think happens after death. The woman, Jill, said she’d go to Heaven and the man, Jeff, said he’d go to Hell.

Jeff told me that he’s an atheist and is very broken by life’s circumstances right now. He made this unforgettable statement to me:

“I don’t believe in God, but I sure could use Him right now.”

It was evident that his road has been a difficult one.

I pointed to a house across the street and asked him how he knows there was a builder to that house.

He told me the house itself is evidence of a builder.

“Exactly!”, I answered him, “When you look at that house, you see design in the way it’s laid out unique to the homes around it. You see art in the color and placement of the paint. You see order in the organization of the windows and doors. And you see creation in its structure. If I told you that this house just evolved together with all of its intricate components over a period of thousands of years, you would think I was a fool! And yet, that is generally what atheists believe about the origin of this universe, which is far more complex than the house across the street. When you look around our world, you see design, art, order, and creation. It’s only wise to conclude there is a Designer, an Artist, an Orderer, a Creator behind this universe!”

He nodded his head in agreement. I continued by telling him that he will stand before God one day whether he believes in Him or not, and that he will have to give an account. What a dreadful day that will be if you stand guilty before a holy God!

I continued by explaining the nature of sin as I walked them through some of the Ten Commandments. It’s so crucial that people understand the bad news so they can genuinely embrace the Good News of the Gospel.

Once I made the condition of our hearts before a holy God clear to them, I shared about Jesus’ perfect sacrifice on the cross and I told them how His blood will wash away our sin when we turn from going our own way and place our faith and trust wholly in Him. What a merciful God!

My heart went out to them because I’ve encountered many people like them who have become angry with God because of the circumstances of their lives. It’s a fallen world and life can be so difficult, but God is so faithful to use those things to draw us to Himself. In fact, it was through the hardships in my own life that God got my attention and drew me to Himself.

You never know what people are going through or what their life’s journey has been like when you talk with them, but you always know that everyone, including them, need Jesus. Ask God to help you step out of your comfort zone and take opportunities for the Gospel. Today was one of the best days of witnessing I’ve had in a long time and I certainly intend to write about some of the amazing encounters I had today in future posts, but it all started with God helping me to get out of my comfort zone.

Please pray for Jeff and Jill!

3 thoughts on ““I Don’t Believe in God, But I Sure Could Use Him Right Now”

  1. Its also great to share the hard things we’ve been through and share how God helped us through it. I know that since my daughter has been battling with cancer, people are more susceptible to listen how God has helped through hard times. Sometimes people assume Christians have had a great life with not much major problems like them. But when we share our hard things and share stories of how God was there for us, it really speaks volumes. Not to dominate the conversation talking about our own stuff of course, but for them to know we might possibly relate on some level and have some answers from experience. Both testimony and gospel sharing are powerful together. Im always encouraged reading your witnessing stories Josh. Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a comment